top of page

Interview With Wild Hearthstone Streamer: En_Djinn


General Questions

Q: How did you get your name?

A: I used to play a lot of Team Fortress 2 when I was younger, in particular Highlander, and I was a bit of a jack-of-all-trades, people called me a "genie" (lamp rubbing jokes were popular) as I'd fill their wish for a roll. I made my name Djinn as I liked the word better and the "En" was the language I spoke which we had to put in our name too, hence "En_Djinn"


Q: How did you get into streaming?

A: I'd always wanted to but never had the time thus working from home during Covid was a blessing. I was in a job with a lot of downtime and streaming Hearthstone to friends in Discord so when work dried up more or less completely they said I might as well stream on Twitch. I started with about 5 viewers from that, so I was really lucky and it gradually grew from there.


Q: Who inspired you the most when you first got started/had the idea to stream?

A: I watched a lot of Twitch from 2013-2018 and OG streamers like Forsen and Reckful were my jam for their off-the-cuff style and fun streams. When I got into streaming few of the old streamers I'd enjoyed were left except Thijs, and I tried to fill a bit of a niche in the "memey" side of Hearthstone.


Q: What do you think differentiates you and attracts viewers to your stream compared to other Hearthstone streamers?

A: I try to play into some of the fun potential that Twitch chat offers. I've never been too hard on rules - my viewers are welcome to take the mick out of me as long as they can take it in return, and I always embrace the latest third-party services such as 7TV, whilst also allowing song requests. I think this played a big part in people wanting to stick around in my stream to begin with. Wild is also a niche of its own, especially in the EU time slot and I like to embrace the social aspects of the scene. Overall, I just try to be chill and provide a fun and entertaining stream, I hope I succeed!


Q: If you could go back in time and tell yourself one thing, what would it be, and when would you tell yourself, or what age would you tell it to yourself?

A: To focus on what I enjoy in life and aim for that, probably before I went to uni. Spent a lot of time chasing things which gave me no joy for material reasons or solely to please other people.


Hearthstone Questions


Q: What is your favorite card of all time in Hearthstone?

A: Frost Lich Jaina, not even close.


Q: Least favorite card?

A: Hard to choose but probably Celestial Alignment. Potion of Madness is a close second.


Q: If you could implement one idea that isn't in Hearthstone currently, whether it be gameplay, a new type of card, or quality of life change, what would it be?

A: Tournament mode! Also, I think a really important quality of life feature we absolutely need is in-game messaging and communication, no one looks at the forums or launcher panels. I also plan on making a video on some improvements to marketing they could make, I sorely believe this is a major pitfall for Blizzard.


Q: If you had to pick a format other than wild to play for the rest of your time in Hearthstone what would it be?

A: Duels or Battlegrounds I think. I've been playing some Duels recently and the large card pool and powerful interactions make it feel a lot like old Wild and it receives relatively consistent balance adjustments. Battlegrounds has a surprising depth of strategy to it that I didn't realize at first and I've really enjoyed getting to know the game mode.


Thank you for reading and thank you to En_Djinn for the interview.

-RighteousJammies


44 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page